Give me an inch, and I’ll eat my yard.

The flowers in my yard have been blooming like crazy, and I have been eating them.

The other day, I was eating a sandwich outside, and I thought, “Hmm, what can I put on this?”  There was chickweed right near by, so I took quite a few leafy stems of that.  Then I got a hankering for dandelion flowers.  I had to scrounge around for a bit, as the yard I was in had been “groomed” somewhat in the past (i.e., the homeowner preferred not to have the beautiful and delicious dandelion grace her lawn).  But I found some all the same, an added them to my sandwich as well.

Then I got to thinking, as long as this stuff is out there, why don’t I add it to everything I eat?  So I have been.  In my own yard, the chickweed hasn’t been as profuse, but the dandelions certainly are.  Every sandwich, burger, or soup I’ve eaten in the past week has had at least a few little sunny faces in it.

The masterpiece was Sunday night when I cooked a chicken soup with dandelion flowers from my own yard and nettle leaves, leeks and big dandelion roots from a friend’s garden.  My wife commented that the dandelion flowers reminded her of okra, and I think she was right.  The dandelion roots surprised me with how much their consistency is like a potato.

I can’t wait until the purslane I found last summer starts to show its little succulent leaves.  And maybe I can get to the spring beauties I discovered yesterday before they fade away.

5 responses to this post.

  1. You’re makin my mouth water!

    Reply

  2. wow. although i can’t imagine myself grabbing things from a yard (especially mine, messy as it is!) and slappin em between two pieces of bread, i love that you did and are doing this. wonderful.

    i just watched a love song for bobby long this week. i now love (the name) Purslane.

    Reply

  3. Posted by jhereg on 04/09/2007 at 9:23 am

    Purslane’s really quite good, I prefer to just nibble on it raw.

    Something I’ve been enjoying a lot on the weekends lately are dandelion omelets (with a little bit of thyme leaf).

    Reply

  4. Posted by Rix on 04/09/2007 at 9:32 am

    jhereg, you said it. i love dandelion omelets. throw in some violet leaves, too, and you’ve got one of the most delectable foods on the planet.

    i haven’t tried thyme leaf, but i often throw in some dried oregano leaf and flower that i was lucky enough to happen on in a feral state a few years back.

    Reply

  5. My aunt keeps 2 roosters and 1 hen.
    The next time I am out there I’ll try and grab an egg or 2 from the hen, and some dandelions!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

