I’ve got the brains, now can I get the body?

I have been spending a lot of time lately helping Urban Scout with his new internet project, the REWILD.info Field Guide–a wiki-based web site (like Wikipedia) that focuses on subjects related to the topic of rewilding.

The beautiful thing about wikis is that anyone can contribute.  I spend a lot of my time in front of a computer, anyway, so I decided to try to get some information onto the new field guide to help make it a more attractive place for the rewilding community to come and both give and get information.  To sound cliche-ish, I figured that “if we build it, they will come.”

Urban Scout, obviously, has a lot of information to contribute.  He has been a rewilder for quite some time.  He has studied under different tracking programs.  He has even taught in various un-school settings.  And this year he has begun an intensive project to try to live as wildly as possible.  The dude has a lot to offer the rewilding community.

I, on the other hand, am new to the rewilding game, haven’t been to any tracker schools, have a wage-slavery job and a family to take care of .  I may not have the freedom to live in a tipi like Scout, but I still have the desire to learn how to be feral.  This blog was my first step in joining the rewilding community.  Now, REWILD.info (with both its forum and the field guide) has broadened that community for me.

Not only is it fun to research articles to put on the wiki field guide (my bow-drill experiment began with and was inspired by the research I did for the REWILD bow-drill article) but it also gives me a chance to use my analytical skills in a rewilding context.

I tend to look at life analytically.  I guess that’s why I’m an analyst.  Whether it’s a database or my car or a primitive project, I really put a lot of think-time into analyzing what I’m working on.  It can be a real help in terms of finding new and different ways of doing things, solving problems, getting around roadblocks.  But it can also be a hindrance in terms of keeping me from getting in some good dirt-time.  It doesn’t matter how much I know about how the friction between two pieces of willow ignites a coal that I can place into a tinder bundle and blow into flame–until I actually do it, and do it over and over again, I don’t really have the skill.  Knowing how something works can be a step to making something work, but it takes experience with these kinds of things to be able to actually use them successfully in a feral setting.

I hope to get more dirt-time in–especially as my son gets older and is capable of doing more things with me.  But until I can rewild my body with doing, I will continue to rewild my mind with learning.  The REWILD Field Guide has been a great platform for that part of my feralizing experience.

I have good news, as well, concerning the REWILD Field Guide: yesterday, we reached 100 articles.  Huge kudos to all the contributors–some who have been putting in the screen-time to get the articles on our wiki–and some who have contributed by letting us use their material.  My thanks to everyone and a big congratulations as well!

Leave a Reply

