Mo-ji-to

A few years ago, I tried a mojito for the first time at this little burrito chain on the Upper East Side in NYC called Blockheads.  They decorate with sock monkeys.  It sounds strange, I know.  What do sock monkeys have to do with burritos–or blockheads, for that matter?  But I digress.  The point remains that their mojito tasted amazing!  I didn’t know what ingredients they used besides the copious amount of mint floating around in my glass–not just the usual “sprig” for decoration, but an entire stalk.

So when I saw the little spearmint plants growing next to my front porch last fall, springing up from where the last tenant had tried to rip them from the ground,[1] I couldn’t wait for the next summer to come around.

Most of the recipes I found online for mojitos looked pretty similar.  You don’t need anything fancy to make good mojitos–except a muddler, but you can improvise that with a spoon, fork, twig, bow-drill spindle, etc.

 Rix’s Super Spearmint Mojito

Ingredients

  • the juice of one lime
  • 1 stalk of fresh spearmint
  • 2 tbsp. sugar
  • 2 oz. light rum
  • 2 oz. spritzer
  • ice
  • extra spearmint and lime if you like to garnish

Directions

  1. Strip the leaves of one of the spearmint stalks into a mixing glass
  2. Cover them with the lime juice and sugar and muddle (mash) until the sugar dissolves and the mint leaves have received a thorough bruising
  3. Add the rum, ice and spritzer and mix thoroughly
  4. Decant over fresh ice in collins glass
  5. Garnish with an additional sprig (or stalk) of spearmint and a wedge or wheel of lime if you want people to think of you as extra fancy
  6. Enjoy the refreshment
Note: If you prefer a fauxjito (because you have yet to come of age or for some reason you teetotal) you can replace the 2 oz. of rum with more spritzer or a citrus flavored soda.  If you use a pre-sweetened soda, then leave out the 2 tbsp of sugar.

I now leave you with a few words from our good friend Brian Griffin:

~I wrote this blog in e-prime~

9 responses to this post.

  1. Do you think I could replace the sugar with Stevia? What would you name that… a mo… stev-to?

    Reply

  2. Posted by Rix on 07/13/2007 at 7:37 am

    I had thought about that. I bet you could. SteviaInfo.com has an equivalency chart that shows you how much stevia to use when replacing sugar.

    Reply

  3. Yeah, I’ve seen the chart. The problem is, stevia isn’t really a “sugar replacer” as much as it is simply a different kind of sweetener. I’ve tried “replacing” sugar with stevia in certain recipes only to have it taste awful. It works sometimes though, like in beverages…

    Reply

  4. Posted by jhereg on 07/13/2007 at 12:15 pm

    Ugh, looks too much like a mint julip. No offense, but I think I’ll pass….

    Reply

  5. i just tried a (bottled) mojito on the fourth of july–i didn’t really love it, but it was awfully refreshing.

    this recipe sounds amazing! i’ll have to pass it on to my sister, Kellie, who couldn’t get enough of ’em. :)

    Reply

  6. Are you sure you’ve used enough rum?
    Bushwacker

    Reply

  7. Posted by locke on 07/13/2007 at 3:24 pm

    Hey Scout,

    If you don’t mind the rum, then why worry about the sugar? You can always use cane juice instead of processed white granulated sugar. In fact, I think that would make a better mojito, although a more expensive one.

    Reply

  8. I love mint!!!! it sounds great! we’re not too big on drinkin around here,so the fauxito might be up our alley!!!!!
    and ‘Scout- I’d love to know if the stevia works, anything to get away from the sugar cane,processed or not!

    Reply

  9. Posted by Rix on 07/25/2007 at 9:18 am

    I made fauxjitos last night for me and my son. I used even more mint (basically loosely filled the entire glass with mint leaves,) left out the rum and just filed the glass up with seltzer. I loved it, and Simon really seemed to enjoy his once he got over the pucker face from the lime juice.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

