Rix degrees of separation

It always fascinates me how people get to my blog.  Fortunately, WordPress offers a handy little function that shows you what pages your visitors came from–or, if they came from a search engine, what search terms they used.

I tend to get a lot of hits from friends’ sites and from the REWILD.info forumUrban Scout has faithfully supplied me with readers since the inception of this blog.  My comments and trackbacks at Anthropik have led people here as well.  My mild-mannered pal Rebeekah even sends some folks my way (who probably wish they hadn’t come.)  Occasionally, I find someone who searched for me by name, which makes me feel good–that folks have started seeking me out.

Sometimes the search terms people used to find me really make me think.  You have the obvious connections like “making ink from pokeweed” and the myriad pemmican, mayapple, dandelion, bow-drill, minnow trap, and cattail searches that lead folks to my articles.  But then you also see some doozies that tend to boggle the mind like:

  • asshole poking – It took them to Poke ain’t no joke, I guess?  I bet they had something else in mind.  By the way, Doug, I blame that one on you.
  • bakers meats of crick – What does that even mean, and how the hell did it lead them to me?
  • non-poisonous poisonous sumac – Um, you mean sumac?

Not too long ago, I got a hit from full-as.tumblr.com.  I had never heard of it before, and I wondered who chose to link to me, so I went to check it out.  The page references my plantain article with the phrase “crazy rewilders! but still, a note to self – remember plantain.”  The post had a couple other plant-related links that I thought worth checking out.  Aside from my plantain article, it also links to some nettley sites.  One of them, in particular, caught my attention:

» Hobo Stripper

a sex-worker activist hobo who’s into wild foods and pickles nettles! maybe my dream lady…

Apparently, this lady lives in a van, does her dancing for money and really digs wild stuff.  You will see links to both Susun Weed and Derrick Jensen books in her sidebar, and one of her posts talks about sharing some Susun Weed and Tom Brown, Jr., books with some guy she met.  Her posts cover topics related to stripping, living in a van, and her love of wild foods.  I make no judgements on how she chooses to live her life other than to say: eating nettles should help your hair look shinier and more healthy.  Rock on, Hobo Stripper.  Rock on.

5 responses to this post.

  1. love this post and LOVE the title. you are so clever, rixie, so clever. and that is not true!! (about readers wishing they wouldn’t have come.) i can’t imagine someone not enjoying your adventures through writing. :)

    Reply

  2. Posted by Rix on 07/30/2007 at 3:36 pm

    thanks for the encouraging comment, rebeekah. i hope your regular audience does enjoy my blog, but i fear that things like “asshole poking” and “hobo strippers” might offend the good christian folks that you send my way. even though the latter was totally your husband’s fault. :)

    and thanks for the props on the title, too. i usually end up explaining my name as “six with an ‘r’,” so it seemed like a logical choice.

    Reply

  3. Thanks for the link. And I want you to know I don’t judge you for your lifestyle either. (Just kidding!) Anyways, I think you’re awesome! Keep up the rewilding writing!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Rix on 07/31/2007 at 8:42 pm

    Thanks for dropping by, Hobo Stripper! I look forward to following your adventures.

    Reply

  5. Asshole Poking is awesome. I got “man fucking pig” today. WTF?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

