Post hole 2

I recently received an email from a friend that asked “Where the hell have you been anyway!?!”

“That looks like a fair question,” I thought to myself as I glanced at the post calendar in the sidebar of my blog to notice that the only posting for this whole month came down to the one I did for the full moon.

So, what has happened to me lately?

Well, my son celebrated his 2nd birthday at the end of last month, so we had a bigger than usual (i.e., bigger than last time) birthday bash for him which included a party with swim time at the local boys & girls club.

Not long after that, we started planning for a trip to NYC to burn up the generous tax return we got from last year.  Then we went on the trip.  Then I came back and felt exhausted and tried to get back into the swing of things with work.

I have done some experimenting over the past few months, but a lack of time and extra energy has prevented me from posting my deeds up on the blog.  I have succeeded in making yogurt (expect a blog on this in the near future) several times now, and I love the homemade stuff so much that I never want to eat any other type of yogurt ever again.

I also built a worm bin and bought some red worms to start a vermicompost project.  I wish I could proclaim the same kind of success there that I had with the yogurt.  Unfortunately, the worms didn’t arrive until the day before we took off for New York.  So I had to (in the midst of packing and making preparations) pick up the worms from my friend’s house, prepare the bedding, and find a place to keep them dark and (hopefully) happy until we got back a week later.  I succeeded in all but the last.  When we got home from our trip, I found tons of dried up little worm  carcasses all over my house.

Supposedly, the little guys just want three things in life: darkness, damp and dinner.  I thought I had given them all three, but their mass exodus tells a different tale.  I tried to adjust their habitat (including making a new and better worm bin) but I still have found them migrating away.  Chalk this one up in the Feral Failures column.

I have also tried to figure out what I want to do with my garden plan for this year.  I have found inspiration in Urban Scout’s permaculture plan as well some local folks that have invited me to take a look at their gardens.  I laid down some sheet mulch in the fall that I hope will kick start some better soil in my extended garden area for this year.  (Another project that I failed to blog about.)

So how come I have done all this shit but not written about any of it yet?

Well, as I mentioned back in November, my job situation changed.  Basically, I got a raise that came with a whole bunch more responsibility that leaves me feeling a lot more drained at the end of the day — and at the end of the week.  Now that spring has come, however, I hope the renewed growth of the land encourages me to share my experiments again.

I started this blog just over a year ago, and I feel like it has really encouraged me to try more things as well as to have fun writing about them.  I hope to overcome the lethargy that has enveloped me of late so that I’ll put my fingers to the keys and breathe some life back into this blog.

3 responses to this post.

  1. “. Basically, I got a raise that came with a whole bunch more responsibility that leaves me feeling a lot more drained at the end of the day — and at the end of the week.”

    Yes…the class trap of civilized life. Sigh. I have no idea how I’ll make these kinds of decisions once I have kids of my own, and hence other people to think of besides myself.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Rix on 03/31/2008 at 1:41 pm

    Sigh. I have no idea how I’ll make these kinds of decisions once I have kids of my own, and hence other people to think of besides myself.

    Yep. Which proves why people call it “being tied down”. I felt like I had a lot more flexibility on my own, less flexibility when I got married, and way less now that I have a little one.

    Let this serve as a warning to all you kids out there: use a condom! :)

    Though I wouldn’t give up my loved ones for anything, it takes a lot more effort to steer three people in a new direction than it does one.

    Reply

  3. did you have a happy birthday, rbw? :)
    i hope so.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

